//
you're reading...
KidMin Events and Talent Directory, Ministry Leadership

A New Year and New Stage in My Journey

Thank God for a new day and new year.

2014 was a dynamic year in my ministry journey from its beginning to the end. I had a wonderful year that had as much faith-binding experiences as it had challenges. As it goes in Seventh-day Adventist churches, annual church elections occurred in October and my serving year as Children Ministries leader at my local church has come to an end. I have passed the baton to the newly elected leader, my assistant leader of 2014, Sharon Coombs.

This change will not affect my blog which I’ll be expanding to include my new responsibilities and children ministries from across Central Jamaica and, I dare hope for 2015, the entire island.

New responsibilities

While I have divested local church responsibilities, the Lord would not have me hang up my boots just yet. I’ve been asked by the Central Jamaica Conference Director for Children and Adolescent Ministries, Claudia Bailey to sit on the Children Ministry Advisory Board and coordinate Children ministry activities in my city, Portmore.

At the zone level, I am assisted by Marjorie Thompson of Portmore SDA and Sis Margaret Prince of Braeton SDA. I am excited about my new role and look forward to work for the Lord alongside Sis Claudia Bailey and rest of the team to boost children ministries and impact more children for the kingdom in 2015.

End of year gift programme

At my local church, we ended the year successfully with our children’s ministry gifting programme. Parents were asked to select a child’s name and purchase a gift for that child. Praise be to God, 99 percent of my children went home gifted and happy at the reveal party two Saturday nights ago. We made a celebration of it too with food, ice-cream, cake and a few games.

Let me say again a big thanks to my parents, teachers and other church members who supported this venture. It strengthened bonds between the kids and adults in the church and especially made our children feel special. That for me was the best part.

District Convention

The next and first event on the calendar for 2015 is the District Convention for Portmore -based churches coming up on January 10 at Portmore SDA Church. The Children Ministries Dept wants our children to be involved in Convention 2015 in a special way this year, so we are coordinating a Combined Children’s Choir comprising several children choirs. The choir  will sing and Portmore’s children ministry will also present a skit.

Time is running out for the choirs to rehearse and be ready for dress rehearsals which begin this weekend. The first dress rehearsal will be held on Sunday, January 4 at Portmore, the host church. We start at 3:00 p.m. upstairs in the Lamb shelter. On Friday evening, we’ll have the final rehearsal starting at 6:00 p.m. Please ensure you get the children there on time so we can finish by 8:30 p.m. We want them well rested for Sabbath morning.

Children’s Convention comes your way in May 2015. You’ll be sent more information on that soon.

Finally . . .

It was a blessing to share my blog with you. I enjoyed sharing my ideas, reflections and the activities of my ministry and hope my journey inspired you to find more confident footing and your potential as a children minister. Yet, there’s still so much more to do, and I want to encourage you to make 2015 your best year yet.

As I told my congregation last Sabbath evening, working in  children ministry is the best church job of all because you get to befriend all those delightful kids, peek into their minds and touch their soft hearts with stories of Jesus’ love. Children ministry time at Hellshire had many highs for me: little hugs, compliments about my hair, balloons, silly, giggly moments, quickly ousted fights, icecream and cake, birthday parties, proud grins and hearty Amens for our children whether they were brightly delivering their Memory verses on Thirteenth Sabbath, so convincingly elocuting sermonettes on Children Sabbaths or showing their gifts and potential in some way.

But it also had its downs:  team disagreements and commitment issues, minor squabbles, resignations, derailed ministry opportunities and lack of resources. . .

But God was on our side; we stayed the course and Satan lost the battle.

This year, I’d like to extend an invitation to you all to share your ministry journeys with me and Kids Who Love the Lord. Do you want to write a guest post, share some photos of your Sabbath School class or children ministry activities? Send them to me and I will post them on my blog. Look for a follow up post on other ways I will be expanding this blog and involving you this year.

Happy New Year. Keep believing. Hold fast. Stay faithful. In 2015 amp up your ministry by staying connected to the Celestial Power source.

About TaylorWrites Creative

I am a freelance journalist/blogger/copywriter based in Portmore, St Catherine. I blog about writing, education, small business, children ministry, lifestyle, current affairs personal technology and island life. I offer the following Writing Services - website pages - social media posts/ updates - blog posts and articles - tests and quizzes - family and life memoirs - corporate profiles - magazine and newsletter copy - email marketing copy - news reports - sales reports - press releases and press kits - advertising and sales promotions copy Editing and Proofreading I have an eagle eye for errors. I can edit or proofread your books, essays, technical/ business documents, academic documents- teacher and student materials, correspondence, resumes and LinkedIn profiles. Call or Email me today to discuss how I may help you with your writing or editing projects. Tel: 797-5997 Email: polishedproofreaderjm@gmail.com Find me on Facebook @ Polished Proofreading

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Kids Who Love the Lord on WordPress.com

What You Missed

Knock, knock, Who’s Surfing?

Translator

